You are here:

Latest news

Central Building Control Partnership achieves ISO certification

Published on Monday, 2nd March 2020

Central Building Control Partnership achieves ISO certification

A local authority building control partnership that covers six areas in central England, including North Warwickshire are celebrating after achieving its ISO 9001 certification.

Central Building Control Partnership works across Lichfield District, Tamworth Borough, South Staffordshire, South Derbyshire, Nuneaton and Bedworth and North Warwickshire, to make sure building projects meet national standards. 

The partnership has recently been awarded the ISO 9001 quality management mark by ISOQAR and the United Kingdom Accreditation Service (or UKAS) on Local Authority Building Control’s behalf. 

This is the mark that gives customers confidence that Central Building Control Partnership is operating in a quality controlled environment that is externally assessed to make sure it delivers consistent, good quality services. 

It demonstrates that the service’s procedures, training and management meet internationally recognised standards. 

Ged Cooper, Central Building Control Partnership Manager, said: “I am really pleased we have achieved our ISO 9001 certification. It has taken time and hard work to implement and demonstrates that we work in a planned, consistent and documented manner.

“It also shows we have strong corporate governance, we work effectively with stakeholders and offer a good service to our customers.

“Moving forward it will help us to monitor and manage quality across the partnership so we can identify any areas where we can be even more responsive. This will ensure we continue to offer a top class service to our customers. 

“I’d like to thank LABC, our national representative body, who have provided us with excellent support and assistance.”

To find out more about Central Building Control Partnership go to

The building control teams from the six councils that make up Central Building Control Partnership are: 

  • Lichfield District Council
  • Tamworth Borough Council
  • South Staffordshire Council
  • South Derbyshire District Council
  • Nuneaton and Bedworth Borough Council
  • North Warwickshire Borough Council